VMware Server 1.0.6 and Linux kernel 2.6.26.x

Posted: August 9, 2008 in VMware

Finally! Someone made patches that enable VMware Server 1.0.6 to work in kernel 2.6.26.x!

The site is currently down, but the link to the patch for vmmon and vmnet are still available:

I have successfully built VMware Server 1.0.6 in Linux 2.6.26.2 after applied the patches. So far, it seems to work fine. However, the kernel option to export obsolete symbol still needs to be enabled.

UPDATE:
The site has come back: VMware-server – paldo.

All thanks to paldo developer for the patches.

Comments
  1. Ravnidran K says:

    Excellent post!! Work very well!!!

    you are great!

  2. stka says:

    Didn’t work with 64bit sidux :-(

  3. lenrek says:

    Well, I have been doing some googling for anymore better patch. It seems, I can’t find any besides the one I posted here.

    I guess, you just have to wait till someone fix it, or fix it yourself. Can’t you help here.

  4. vmdeb says:

    Ienrek, how can I apply those patches ? Could you tell me?

    and I’d like to know whether they work with vmware server version 1.0.7 as well? If don, it’s not a problem, I can keep the 1.0.6.

    Tnx

  5. lenrek says:

    To apply the patch file, just do step 2 of my earlier post:

    http://lenrek.wordpress.com/2008/04/24/vmware-105-and-kernel-2625/

  6. Matteo says:

    Great!
    It works also for VMWare server 1.0.7 and Fedora Core 9 Kernel 2.6.26.3.

    Thank you

  7. [...] der Erstellung des Paketes erledigt werden (und gilt auch für nicht-Debian-Distros): Wie in der Anleitung von Lenrek muss das gepackte VMware-File erst gepatcht werden, also zuerst VMware-server*.tar.gz entpacken, [...]

  8. illushene says:

    Sweet blog. I never know what I am going to come across next. I think you should do more posting as you have some pretty intelligent stuff to say.

    I’ll be watching you . :)

    • lenrek says:

      Well… Thanks!

      I only post if there is something interesting to talk about… I guess, been busy with my new hobby (photography) and being more busy in Facebook just kinda having fewer things to write.

      :p

  9. [...] VMware Server 1.0.6 and Linux kernel 2.6.26.x August 200810 comments 5 [...]

Leave a Reply

