DLG 2.18.1 (Pre-Beta) + Slackware-current + Compiz

Posted: June 5, 2007 in Linux

I know the official recommendation is not to use current for DLG, but hey, I guess I was bored, and after reading about Compiz and seeing how all the fancy stuff it can make from here, it is very tempting for me to give is a try.

I have been using Slack11, reading from Compiz, it needs Xorg7.0 or above and since Slack11 is using Xorg6.9, either I upgrade to Slack-current now (as of now, it already comes with Xorg7.2) or build Xorg7.2 myself. These days, I rather lazy to compile it myself, so I decided to upgrade to Slack-current as the easiest method for me.

I usually use swaret to automate my updating and upgrading process. I was hoping that I can do the same upgrading through swaret. However, after reading the ChangeLogs, I realize is not a good idea. Since there a big change in GLIBC version and sysinit scripts also changes quite a bit (just to name a few). I hate the idea of doing a complete new installation, since it implies I need to nuke my existing setup and it is running beautifully with DLG 2.18.1.

So, this little article is simply my little attempt to upgrade my existing Slack11 to the latest Slack-current.


1st – Download the latest Slack-current and burn it into DVD. This is simple, first create a empty directory, cd into it, and after that, use rsync:

$ rsync -arzv –stats –progress -I –delete-after rsync://rsync.slackware.at/slackware/slackware-current ./

After rsync finished, a new directory slackware-current should be created. CD into it and just follow the instruction in ./isolinux/README.TXT:

$ mkisofs -o /tmp/slackware-dvd.iso -R -J -A “Slackware Install” -hide-rr-moved -v -d -N -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 32 -boot-info-table -sort isolinux/iso.sort -b isolinux/isolinux.bin -c isolinux/isolinux.boot -V “SlackDVD”

$ growisofs -Z /dev/dvdrw=slackware-dvd.iso

Actually, I don’t really need to burn it to DVD since I can mount it as loop device and install from there. However, having a bootable DVD can come in handy if hitting problem – we can use it as a rescue disk.

2nd – Mount the DVD and following the instructions in CHANGES_AND_HINTS.TXT in the DVD, but do it until step 7. For kernel configuration, make sure dm_mod is built into the kernel.

3rd – Switch back to runlevel 3 and use swaret! Modify /etc/swaret.conf:

  • version=current
  • ROOT=file://mnt/cdrom (if CDROM is mounted here)
  • NIC=lo
  • EXCLUDE=swaret python pilot-link
    EXCLUDE=aaa_
    EXCLUDE=MANIFEST.bz2$
    EXCLUDE=.*dl$ . *PACKAGER$ . *MYBUILD$

DLG needs python 2.4.3 and pilot-link 0.11.8, so we can’t upgrade them. Now, run swaret:

$ swaret –update
$ swaret –upgrade

From here, just follow instruction as it prompt. NOTE: swaret is my choice, since it will just update and upgrade all the packages that I use, the default guide from Slack suggest to install all, which is not my preference. However, our taste may varies.

4th – Install packages that were not upgraded by swaret: file, findutils, which, sysvinit, sysvinit-functions and sysvinit-scripts from A series. Make sure all the *.new files in /etc/rc.d/ is properly rename to its corresponding target. This is important!

5th – Install all the packages in X series.

$ installpkg slackware/x/*.tgz

From here, do a reboot and make sure everything boot up properly (it should be, at least for my system). Remember to set default run level as 3 in inittab before reboot since X has not yet configured.

Once system boot up successfully, built compiz and gnome-compiz-manager from source. Just do ./configure in the source directory. I use checkinstall to create the Slackware packages, so I can easily manage them later. The instructions found at this link is helpful for installing compiz:

http://forum.compiz.org/viewtopic.php?t=239

Use gnome-compiz-manager to play around with the settings.

If we reach here, this mean, the upgrade has been completed. Have fun!

Here are some basic instructions that I found from the net for using Compiz:

  • Ctrl + Alt + Mouse Drag on Desktop rotates the Cube
  • Super + Right Click zooms the display. Mouse wheel or Enter will un-zoom.
  • Alt + Mouse Wheel on a Window adjusts the Window Transparency
  • Ctrl + Alt + Up Arror also gets you the Expose effect
  • Ctrl + Alt + Down Arrow gives a panoramic view of all the desktops
  • You can drag a Window from one cube surface to another
  • Every Gnome desktop has it’s own independent cube

NOTE:

  1. I am not going to cover the configuration of graphic drivers, since this maybe varies between different graphic devices. I am using NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 – The setup and configuration is fairly simple. There are documentation at Compiz that cover this as well.
  2. Remember to read the CHANGES_AND_HINTS.TXT carefully. Our setup will most likely be different, thus, the requirements maybe different as well. This article should be used as reference, not a generic guide.

Comments
  1. […] 16th, 2007 at 4:16 pm (Uncategorized) After playing around with my newly install Compiz on Slack-current, I decided to try rebuild the entire DLG from […]

Leave a Reply

