Trying out Ubuntu

Posted: September 5, 2008 in Linux
Tags:

There was once, I always consider myself, with pride, of using Linux, Slackware to be exact. Whenever I meet some Windoze users, I always like to make some (subtle) mocking remarks of how they refuse to try Linux, and how they look like an old dog which can’t learn new tricks.

These days, I keep hearing a lot my friends saying nice things about Ubuntu. As someone who been using Slackware (exclusively) for more than 10 years, I always find Slackware is the best. Not that I look down at other distro, is just not something I am compelling to try (I did try out Redhat, before the days of Fedora. However, I don’t find it fit my taste, and that was really long long time ago).

Anyway, a few days ago, as I was interviewing a potential engineer for my company, I mentioned about the need to know Linux as one of the job requirement. I briefly explain to him about Slackware, and he asked me why I don’t use Ubuntu. I told him the reason I did not try out other distro, as I have using Slackware since I started to play with Linux, and I am comfortable with it. Then, it occurred to me, I have became an old dog who can’t learn new tricks.

Well, why not, I have a few old laptops in the office that collecting dust. I don’t see any harm of trying out something new. Besides, it can be an interesting experience.

Leave a Reply

